9 Best Frase Alternatives in 2026, Matched by Job

Frase alternatives for each job the 2026 Frase does, from writing and editing to briefs and AI tracking, with every price checked on the vendor's own site.

Rankbox Team

September 23, 2026 · 18 min read

On this page10 sections

The short answer

The best Frase alternatives in 2026 depend on which Frase job you're replacing. For finished articles with nobody writing, pick Rankbox. For a writing team's editor, pick Surfer SEO or Clearscope, or NeuronWriter on a small budget. For briefs, pick Content Harmony, and for articles plus AI tracking on one bill, Scalenut.

That split matters because Frase changed. Its February 2026 relaunch turned an optimization editor into a platform that researches, scores drafts, writes and publishes through an AI agent, and tracks AI citations from the $49 Starter plan. Many lists of Frase alternatives still describe the old tool, so they compare it on the wrong things.

We make Rankbox, which is why it's ranked first. Its entry is plain about the two gaps a Frase user will feel most: Rankbox has no AI citation tracking yet, and it isn't built for teams who write their own drafts. Every price on this page was checked on 23 September 2026, on the vendor's own site.

Key Takeaways

  • Frase costs $49 a month, or $39 billed yearly, for 10 articles on one site, with AI tracking in ChatGPT and Google AI. Professional is $129 for 40.
  • A list that quotes Frase at $14.99, or says it ignores AI answers, is describing the app from before 2026.
  • Pick Frase alternatives by job: writing (Rankbox, Scalenut, Semrush), editing (Surfer SEO, Clearscope, NeuronWriter, PageOptimizer Pro), or briefs and planning (Content Harmony, MarketMuse).
  • Rankbox is $49.50 a month for 30 articles, about $1.65 each, against $4.90 on Frase Starter. Frase's price also covers AI tracking, which Rankbox doesn't offer yet.
  • An article, a document, a Draft, and a brief are different units.
  • Frase gives no refunds, and neither does Rankbox. Use the free trials.

The Frase You Remember Isn't the One on Sale

On 2 February 2026, Frase relaunched as "the New Frase", rebuilt with an AI agent, CMS publishing, and AI visibility tracking. The legacy app still runs at app.frase.io, and the migration guide sets "no required deadline" to move, though some older plans are "ineligible for migration."

Plenty of pages ranking for "Frase alternatives" haven't caught up. One quotes a $14.99 starting price and says Frase doesn't watch AI answers. Another says it outputs a document and leaves publishing to other tools. Neither matches the product now, so read such a list's other facts with care.

Here is what Frase sells today, from its pricing page:

Frase's pricing page on 23 September 2026, showing yearly and month-to-month prices.
Frase's pricing page on 23 September 2026, showing yearly and month-to-month prices.
PlanMonth to monthBilled yearlyArticles a monthAI engines trackedPrompts tracked
Starter$49$3910ChatGPT, Google AI50
Professional$129$10340Adds Perplexity200
Scale$299$239100Adds Claude and Gemini500

Professional adds 5 sites, 3 seats, the content calendar, and internal linking suggestions. Starter stops at its limits, so there are no surprise bills and no extra articles to buy; pay-as-you-go overage exists only on Professional ($5 an article) and Scale ($4).

The agent can publish on its own on any plan, switched on per content type, but the product expects a person to sign off first. Frase's automation docs describe earned autonomy: after "5 approvals at 90%+ in 30 days," it suggests "Publish without review," and it pauses itself when drafts get rejected. That suits a team. It's more setup than you want if nobody plans to open the tool.

On Trustpilot, Frase had 3.7 out of 5 from 63 reviews on 21 September 2026. Lifetime-deal holders who say they were left on the legacy app wrote some of the low ones, while other recent reviewers praise the AI tracker.

Frase Alternatives for Each of Frase's Four Jobs

The new Frase does four jobs, and most teams bought it for one or two:

  1. Research and briefs built from the live results.
  2. The editor, with SEO, GEO, and E-E-A-T scores from 0 to 100.
  3. The agent, which drafts articles and publishes to WordPress, Webflow, Sanity, or Wix.
  4. Tracking and upkeep: AI citations, site audits, and Content Guard for pages that slip.

Good Frase alternatives do one of those jobs better or for less. Find your row:

If you used Frase forBest alternativeAlso considerKeep in mind
Getting articles writtenRankbox, $49.50 for 30Scalenut, Semrush Content ToolkitRankbox has no AI citation tracking yet
Editing draftsSurfer SEO, $119 on StandardClearscope, NeuronWriter, PageOptimizer ProSurfer's $59 entry plan has no AI tracking
Research and briefsContent Harmony, $50 for 5MarketMuse, by demoNeither one writes the article
AI tracking and upkeepFrase itself, or Surfer SEO ProPageOptimizer Pro, ClearscopeEngines vary by plan
Figure 1. What the cheapest plan of each Frase alternative costs a month on monthly billing, checked on 23 September 2026. MarketMuse publishes no prices.

How we picked. We read the 13 multi-tool lists of Frase alternatives that a search turned up on 23 September 2026. All came from software vendors, and 11 put their own product first, as this page does. To make ours, a tool had to do at least one of Frase's jobs, still be sold and updated in 2026, fit some buyer better than Frase, and publish its prices. MarketMuse is the exception to that last rule, kept because 11 of the 13 lists name it.

Trackers that only do the fourth job, such as Profound and Otterly, are left out. Outranking showed no current plans we could confirm, and Rankability moved its prices behind a demo. Dashword, at $99 a month for 30 content reports, suits you if your own AI agent does the writing. Per-unit figures throughout are our arithmetic.

If Frase Was Writing Your Articles

These three Frase alternatives replace the agent. All write whole articles; they differ in what else comes in the box.

1. Rankbox: articles written and delivered, no editor to sit in

Frase's agent writes when asked and publishes once trusted. Rankbox skips the asking. It reads your site, maps the questions your buyers put to Google and AI assistants with its answer-space research, and works through them on your schedule, from a few a week up to one a day. Demand is AI-estimated rather than drawn from a keyword database.

Each article runs about 2,750 words. The citation-ready writer builds it from live research of the pages ranking now, cites sources inline and in a References list, and writes in a brand voice drawn from your site that you can edit. Any draft failing an SEO check goes back through until it passes the SEO and GEO score. Every piece opens with the answer and ends with an FAQ.

The money: $49.50 a month for 30 articles on one site, about $1.65 each, against $4.90 on Frase Starter, whose $49 also pays for tracking, audits, and an editor. Extra sites cost $49.50 each, there's no yearly plan, and the 7-day free trial takes a card and writes up to 7 articles.

What a Frase user gives up:

  • Tracking. Rankbox grades each article for AI-answer readiness but doesn't watch live citations yet.
  • Native publishing. Articles arrive through the Rankbox publishing API, which a developer connects once. Native plugins for WordPress and Webflow, two of Frase's four targets, are in development, along with Shopify, Framer, and Square.
  • Editing and refreshes. Rankbox writes new articles. It doesn't coach writers or rework old pages.
  • Seats. There's one login per account.

Paid plans add a backlink exchange, with 30 credits a month that move only when a topic-matched link is verified live, and Reddit reply drafts you post yourself. Both are still rolling out in September 2026. Its research tools also plug into 49 AI tools through one MCP link, for research rather than publishing. Rankbox vs Frase has the full breakdown.

2. Scalenut: articles and AI tracking on one bill

Scalenut took Frase's road. It began as an AI writer and now calls itself a GEO platform, with tracking, a GEO article writer, an optimizer, a content audit, and Reddit and backlink modules in one plan. If you liked writing and tracking under one login, it's the closest of these Frase alternatives in shape.

Skip Starter, which is $59 for 5 articles and 10 prompts. Hold Plus, at $89 a month, against Frase Professional:

  • 30 GEO articles, about $2.97 each by our arithmetic, versus $3.23 on Frase Professional
  • 25 prompts tracked in ChatGPT and Google AI Overviews
  • Auto-publishing to WordPress and Shopify, and up to four team members

Perplexity tracking starts on Professional, at $199. Each plan has a 7-day free trial. The yearly toggle shows a "60% OFF Limited Offer," Plus at $36 a month with doubled limits, but not the yearly total, so read the checkout.

Three cautions. AI data refreshes weekly unless you upgrade, where Frase checks daily. The pricing page still carries Black Friday 2024 text. And Trustpilot showed 3.2 out of 5 from 159 reviews on 23 September 2026, with complaints about yearly billing and cancelling.

3. Semrush Content Toolkit: high draft volume at a flat price

If Frase Starter's 10-article cap pinched, Semrush's Content Toolkit, once called ContentShake AI, meters differently. It's $60 a month, and the yearly view shows the same $60, for weekly topic ideas from Semrush data, SEO briefs, full AI drafts, an AI Search Optimizer, and repurposing into email and social posts. The knowledge base calls standard articles unlimited; the pricing page says 10,000 a month.

Depth costs extra. Only 5 "SEO-boosted" articles, the ones with advanced SERP analysis, are included, and 10 more are $30 a month. Drafts publish to up to 100 WordPress sites or go to Google Docs. Extra users are $20 a month, and the 7-day trial asks for a card.

Tracking isn't part of it; Semrush sells that separately as the AI Visibility Toolkit. No scheduled autopilot publishing is described. Semrush has been an Adobe company since 28 April 2026, and its customer FAQ says there are no immediate changes. For the wider suite, see Semrush vs Ahrefs.

If You Mostly Lived in Frase's Editor

These four Frase alternatives do the job Frase started with: grading a draft against the pages that rank. An Ahrefs study of content-tool scores found only a weak link between higher scores and higher rankings, so treat any grade as a checklist and spend your effort on a direct answer, sourced facts, and the questions buyers ask.

4. Surfer SEO: an editor with keyword research beside it

Surfer SEO appears on 11 of the 13 lists of Frase alternatives we read. For a Frase editor user, the draw is research beside the draft: volume, difficulty, and keyword clusters from Standard up, plus a Topical Map built from your Search Console keywords on Pro. Since May 2026 its Content Score blends an SEO Score with an AI Search Score, which checks fact coverage and whether your intro answers the query. Surfer AI drafts full articles in the editor, one document each.

Discovery, $59 a month or $49 yearly, gives one seat and 10 documents a month, without AI tracking, keyword research, or integrations. A Frase user lands on Standard: $119, or $99 yearly, for three seats, 30 documents a month, and 25 ChatGPT prompts checked weekly. Pro, at $219 or $182, tracks 50 prompts daily across ChatGPT, Perplexity, Gemini, Google AI Mode, and AI Overviews, and Peace of Mind is $359 or $299. For tracking alone, AI Search Analytics costs $95 a month for 50 prompts refreshed daily.

Where it differs from Frase: publishing. Articles export to WordPress as drafts, and automatic publishing takes Zapier or the API on Peace of Mind. Claude isn't a tracked engine. The 7-day trial runs on Pro, needs a card, and converts to paid unless you cancel. See Surfer SEO vs Frase head to head, or Surfer SEO alternatives for Surfer's own rivals.

5. Clearscope: one simple grade for a big pool of writers

Frase charges $29 a month per extra seat on Professional and Scale. Clearscope includes any number of users on every plan, which changes the maths once twenty freelancers need logins. Its Content Grade scores each suggested term from 1 to 10 by importance, with a letter grade on top that new writers pick up quickly.

It also does part of Frase's upkeep job. A Content Inventory tied to Search Console re-grades your pages monthly, flags decay, and suggests internal links, even on the entry plan. Prompt Tracking arrived in July 2026 with mention rates and a 90-day trend. The pricing page names ChatGPT and Gemini, and the homepage adds Claude.

Price: Essentials is $129 a month for 20 Drafts, 50 tracked prompts, and 50 monitored pages. Business is $399. Yearly prices aren't published, the trial runs 14 days, and refunds are case by case.

A Draft is a content analysis of the results, not a written article, and AI drafting inside it goes step by step. Clearscope publishes nothing for you, supports five languages to Frase's 70+, and documents no public API. Capterra showed 4.9 out of 5 from 60 reviews on 23 September 2026, many from 2018 to 2022. The two graders meet in Surfer SEO vs Clearscope.

6. NeuronWriter: Frase-style scoring for less

For Frase-style scoring at a lower price, NeuronWriter has the smallest entry fee here. Bronze is $23 a month, $19 billed yearly, for 25 content analyses across two projects. Each analysis lists the words and entities the top Google results use, in 19 languages.

A Frase user will hit the edges:

  • One-click articles, WordPress export, the API, the MCP server, and team editing start at Gold, $69 a month or $57 yearly.
  • The AI Visibility module watches Google AI Overviews, AI Mode, ChatGPT, and Perplexity, but includes just 5 to 20 monitored questions. More start at $9 a month for 10 prompts. Claude and Gemini aren't listed.
  • No scheduled publishing is documented.

The terms are friendly: a 7-day trial on Gold terms without a card, and a refund on your first plan if you ask within 30 days. Trustpilot showed 4.5 out of 5 from 68 reviews on 23 September 2026, below the 4.8 its footer claims.

7. PageOptimizer Pro: exact targets for pages you already have

Content Guard finds a slipping page and drafts the fix. PageOptimizer Pro, or POP, is for making the fix yourself, with numbers: how often to use the exact keyword, which variations and related terms to add, and what word count to aim for, all measured against the pages ranking now. It follows SEO Kyle Roof's test-based method, works in 61 languages, and has a Chrome extension for editing pages in place.

Its AI Visibility Tracker comes with every plan and reaches further than Frase Starter: ChatGPT, Google AI (AI Overviews and AI Mode), Gemini, Claude, and Perplexity. Each run costs 3 credits plus 1 per question, from the same pool as reports and AI writing.

Basic is $40 a month for 20 credits. Unlimited, at $72 or $62 yearly, lifts the report cap under a fair-use policy, and Teams is $143 or $119. There's no free trial, but POP gives a full refund if you cancel within 7 days. Parts of the pricing page disagree with each other, so confirm credit costs first.

If Frase Built Your Briefs and Plans

Frase's research step turns a keyword into a brief with headings, sources, and questions. If your writers relied on that part, these two Frase alternatives go deeper.

8. Content Harmony: the brief, done thoroughly

Content Harmony sells one unit, the "Content Workflow": a keyword report, a brief, and a content grader for a single page. Reports classify search intent, lay out competitors' headings, and pull in the questions, images, and videos from the results. Since March 2025 they also flag when Google shows an AI Overview.

Pricing follows volume: $50 a month for 5 workflows, or about $42 billed yearly, then $99 for 12, up to $799 for 150. Every plan includes any number of users and projects, and unused credits carry over for 90 days. The trial is unusual. $10 buys 10 workflows, with no time limit and no automatic billing afterwards.

It stops at the brief. There's no writer or publisher, and nothing tracks AI answers beyond spotting AI Overviews. It covers English queries in a short list of countries, and its changelog shows no updates so far in 2026. For a quick one-off, our free content brief generator builds a starting brief.

9. MarketMuse: planning across a large site

Nearly every list of Frase alternatives names MarketMuse, and few mention its new owner. Siteimprove completed its acquisition on 31 October 2024. Public prices came off the site in 2025, every plan on its pricing page now says "Book a demo," and the last public paid plans, in February 2025, started at $99 a month.

Its strength is the whole-site view. MarketMuse inventories your pages and topics, then scores Personalized Difficulty and Topic Authority, so you can see what to write next and how much depth each topic needs to build topical authority. It says plainly that it doesn't write content for customers or act as a CMS. The newest post on its blog is from July 2025, so ask about the roadmap on the demo call.

What One Unit Buys Across Frase Alternatives

Frase alternatives count different things. Frase and Rankbox count finished articles. Surfer counts documents, which can be AI-written or blank. Clearscope's Drafts and NeuronWriter's analyses are content analyses, not articles, and Content Harmony counts briefs. A lower unit price only means cheaper when the units match.

Plan and monthly allowanceUnitBilled monthlyPer unit, monthlyBilled yearly, per month
Frase Starter, 10Article$49$4.90$39
Rankbox, 30Article$49.50$1.65Not offered
Scalenut Plus, 30GEO article$89$2.97$36, limited offer
Semrush Content ToolkitDraft$60Flat fee$60
Surfer SEO Standard, 30Document$119$3.97$99
Clearscope Essentials, 20Draft (analysis)$129$6.45Not published
NeuronWriter Gold, 75Analysis$69$0.92$57
Content Harmony, 5Brief$50$10.00About $42

Counting only tools that sell a set number of finished articles, Rankbox is lowest at $1.65, then Scalenut Plus at about $2.97 with tracking included, then Frase Scale ($2.99) and Professional ($3.23). Semrush charges a flat fee for standard drafts instead, and NeuronWriter's $0.92 buys an analysis, not an article.

By monthly price, Rankbox isn't the cheapest: NeuronWriter starts at $23 and PageOptimizer Pro at $40. Yearly billing narrows the per-article gap, taking Frase Scale to $2.39 and Professional to $2.58, and Rankbox has no yearly plan. Frase's price also covers AI tracking, site audits, and an API, none of which Rankbox's $49.50 includes. Our cheap SEO guide's advice holds here: pay monthly until a tool has earned a year.

Trials, Refunds, and Leaving Frase Cleanly

Frase's terms are blunt: "All fees paid are final, and we do not provide any refunds." Rankbox's subscriptions are non-refundable too, except for billing errors or where the law requires. Refund terms across Frase alternatives vary more:

ToolFree trialCard at signupRefunds
Frase7 days of Professional, up to 5 articlesNoNone
Rankbox7 days, up to 7 articlesYesOnly billing errors or where law requires
Surfer SEO7 days of ProYes, converts to paidNo money-back offer listed
Clearscope14 daysNot asked at signupCase by case
NeuronWriter7 days on Gold termsNoFirst plan, within 30 days
PageOptimizer ProNonePaid from day oneFull refund within 7 days
Semrush Content Toolkit7 daysYesNot stated on the pages read
Content Harmony$10 for 10 workflowsPaid trial, no auto-billingNot stated on the pages read

NeuronWriter's 30-day window and POP's 7-day refund are the most forgiving terms here.

Moving? Go in this order:

  1. Export while your plan is active. Frase exports to Google Docs, Notion, HTML, Markdown, and PDF. Pages already on your own CMS stay put.
  2. Check for FraseCMS. If Frase hosts your blog, you'll need new hosting and a 301 redirect for each changed URL. Our redirect generator writes them.
  3. Save your AI tracking results. Starter keeps current data only, Professional 3 months, and Scale 12.
  4. Trial the new tool before Frase renews, then cancel. Downgrades apply at the next cycle.
  5. Point new articles at topics you haven't covered, so two of your pages don't chase one query, a problem called keyword cannibalization.

When Frase Is Worth Keeping

Before you move to any of these Frase alternatives, check this list. Frase is good value if:

  1. You want tracking and content on one bill. Frase checks 50 prompts daily in ChatGPT and Google AI from $49, with the cited URLs and their positions. Rankbox has no citation monitoring yet.
  2. People on your team write. The editor scores SEO, GEO, and E-E-A-T from 0 to 100, and writers approve facts and sources before the agent drafts.
  3. You're guarding a big library. Audits cover 50 to 1,000 pages a month by plan, and Content Guard spots ranking drops in Search Console data and drafts fixes for approval, so content decay stays in the same tool.
  4. You run several sites, languages, or code-driven workflows. Professional covers 5 sites and 3 seats, Frase writes in 70+ languages, and every plan has an API, an MCP server, and a CLI, plus native publishing to WordPress, Webflow, Sanity, and Wix.

If none of those decides it and you want 30 articles a month that nobody on your team has to write, try Rankbox free for 7 days and judge real articles for your own site before the first full month.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the best Frase alternative?

It depends on the job you're replacing. For articles written and delivered, it's Rankbox, at $49.50 a month for 30. For an editor, it's Surfer SEO or Clearscope, each named on 11 of the 13 lists of Frase alternatives we read, or NeuronWriter on a budget. For briefs, try Content Harmony; for tracking plus articles in one plan, Scalenut Plus.

What is the cheapest Frase alternative?

By monthly price, NeuronWriter: $23, or $19 billed yearly, for 25 content analyses. PageOptimizer Pro starts at $40 and Content Harmony at $50 for 5 briefs. Per finished article, Rankbox is the lowest of the Frase alternatives here that sell a set article count, at about $1.65.

Is there a free alternative to Frase?

Not for ongoing use. None of these Frase alternatives has a free plan for its core product, but several let you test first. Frase and NeuronWriter give 7 days without a card, Clearscope gives 14 days, and Content Harmony's $10 trial covers 10 briefs. Rankbox's 7-day trial takes a card and writes up to 7 articles.

Is Frase worth it in 2026?

Yes, if you use more than one of its jobs. Between $49 and $129 a month buys research, an editor, an agent that publishes, and AI citation tracking in one place. If you use just one, one of the focused Frase alternatives above often costs less or goes deeper.

Can I use Frase alongside another tool?

Yes. A sensible split keeps Frase for tracking and editing and hands the volume writing to something else. Rankbox could write the articles while Frase tracks whether AI answers cite them, and you can open any article in Frase's editor to check its scores.

Which of Frase's jobs are you replacing, and which Frase alternatives made your shortlist?

References

  1. 1.Pricing, Frasefrase.io
  2. 2.Terms of service, Frasefrase.io
  3. 3.The New Frase: Built for Content Teams in the AI Search Era, Frasefrase.io
  4. 4.Legacy migration guide, Frase Docsdocs.frase.io
  5. 5.Automations, Frase Docsdocs.frase.io
  6. 6.Content scores explained, Frase Docsdocs.frase.io
  7. 7.Pricing, Surfersurferseo.com
  8. 8.How does the Surfer trial work?, Surfer Help Centerdocs.surferseo.com
  9. 9.Pricing, Clearscopeclearscope.io
  10. 10.Prompt Tracking, Clearscopeclearscope.io
  11. 11.What is your refund policy?, Clearscope Supportclearscope.io
  12. 12.Pricing, NeuronWriterneuronwriter.com
  13. 13.AI Visibility, NeuronWriterneuronwriter.com
  14. 14.Pricing, PageOptimizer Propageoptimizer.pro
  15. 15.AI Visibility Tracker, PageOptimizer Propageoptimizer.pro
  16. 16.Returns and refunds, PageOptimizer Propageoptimizer.pro
  17. 17.Content Toolkit pricing, Semrushsemrush.com
  18. 18.Content Toolkit pricing and plans, Semrush Knowledge Basesemrush.com
  19. 19.FAQ for customers: Adobe acquires Semrush, Semrushsemrush.com
  20. 20.Pricing, Scalenutscalenut.com
  21. 21.Pricing, Content Harmonycontentharmony.com
  22. 22.Pricing, MarketMusemarketmuse.com
  23. 23.MarketMuse pricing, February 2025, Wayback Machineweb.archive.org
  24. 24.Siteimprove completes acquisition of MarketMuse, Siteimprovesiteimprove.com
  25. 25.Pricing, Dashworddashword.com
  26. 26.Frase reviews, Trustpilottrustpilot.com
  27. 27.NeuronWriter reviews, Trustpilottrustpilot.com
  28. 28.Scalenut reviews, Trustpilottrustpilot.com
  29. 29.Clearscope reviews, Capterracapterra.com
  30. 30.Do Higher Content Scores Mean Higher Google Rankings?, Ahrefsahrefs.com

See where AI cites you today

Enter your site to see how often ChatGPT, Perplexity, Gemini, and Google cite your brand, and exactly what to publish next.

No credit card required · Free 7-day trial